what’s your definite chief aim in life?

*Dear reader, 

Before you read this post, I’ve got something that I think you’d be happy to know. First of all, I hope that you are doing great!

Now, this post on the purpose of life, of the definite chief aim of life, as Napoleon Hill used to call it, is very popular with my readers. Even though this post was published back in July 2014… it’s the most read post in this site.

Everyday a good number of people come here to read other posts, but only this post get read every single day. So what am I saying?

Well, it appears so far that life purpose is the most important thing to most aware people, like yourself. You know, you aren’t reading this by accident. But because you are on the path of progress to the better you. And to do that well, it seems to me that both you and I MUST clarify our life purposes.

This post alone is not enough to help you answer all of your questions about life purpose/life chief aim. So I hope you don’t mind me suggesting to you that it’ll be of great benefit for you to keep searching for more, better knowledge on the subject.

With that, I’d let you proceed with the rest of the post.

I wish you all the best as you progress to your excellence.

I really do.

jOsh lugEmbe
28th July 2015 

¬

↘original post below ↘


<<“To put away aimlessness and weakness, and to begin to think with purpose, is to enter the ranks of those strong ones who only recognize failure as one of the pathways  to attainment; who make all conditions serve them, and who think strongly, attempt fearlessly, and accomplish masterfully.” J. Allen>>

Well, back in 1928, Napoleon Hill wrote the Law of Success. It took him over 25 years to gather all the necessary information to write the law.

Then almost ten years later, he published Think and Grow Rich with The Ralston Society. Only that the two books are the same. The first one is just a longer version of the second. And the second one is simply better because it’s shorter and it has included a lot of feedback from the first book.

But then again, the first book was not meant to be a book, but it was a distance learning course for those who wanted to learn on what made one man a success while the other a bum.

Now I know that the title to this blog post isn’t about Napoleon Hill’s books but about one subject that was repeated in both of his books.

The subject that according to Napolen Hill, initiates all success journeys.

I’m talking about the definite chief aim.

But what’s it?

What’s a definite chief aim?

How does one decide or define his/her definite chief aim in life?

How does one get to such a decision?

Is it through market research as marketers do before they present a new product to the market?

Or is it through trial and error?

How do you know that your choice of a definite life purpose is right one for you?

Is there any sign that tells you that you’re on the right path, heading towards the right direction?

Well, let’s find out together.

As human race we have evolved and given ourselves missions that weren’t even existing in the first place.

For example, my relatives made me believe that there’s something we are here on this earth to do.

And because they are religious, then that ended up to be a religious purpose.

But the truth of the matter is, there’s no definite purpose that we are assigned.

The only purpose there’s for us is the one we give ourselves.

Napoleon Hill made his business to find out what made successful people successful.

He dedicated his life to know what are the definite ways to accumulate wealth.

And when his time was done, he more than achieved his purpose.

Years ago when I was training to be an accountant, I somehow believed that using a calculator was my definite aim.

But then today I’m a writer.

I’m a writer because I can write.

And contributing to prosperity through my writing skills, my creative ideas, my talent to tell it in writing, is the path through which I can express the elements that are in my definite chief aim, my life purpose.

Very far from left handed, logical path, calculator user, balance sheet kind of guy I was being prepared to be years ago.

I’m now on a right-handed path, the creative path, the path that you add value by creating and at times, by ignoring logic.

Here, inspiration counts more than logic.

You see, when I was meant to be an accountant, I thought of it a good thing until I realised that to be of a true success, one has to be passionate about what he/she does.

And what one does, somehow defines his/her definite chief aim.

But because accounting didn’t add music to my soul, I had to search where I could find that music.

And to my surprise, it was in writing.

But why writing?

Well, because writing resonates with my abilities.

Writing resonates with the habits I have developed over the years – reading, buying books, visiting libraries, love for words etc.

But writing in itself isn’t a definite chief aim.

It’s too broad to be one.

It’s just a path of least resistance to achieve whatever I want to achieve.

So to narrow it down, I trained as a copywriter.

Then tried advertising.

But that didn’t move my spirits, either.

So I went back to my first love, personal development.

Now, my writing is focused: writing to inspire, motivate and challenge in the eyes of personal development but in a total reflection of the core principles of the laws of universe.

And as long as I have a dozen books bearing my name, as long as they are all best sellers, changing lives, they aren’t conforming to some social norms… then I’m doing just what I’ve been dreaming of.

The definite goal has to be focused, because if it isn’t then definitely, there will be some confusion.

Napoleon Hill did write:

‘The man who labours without a definite purpose that is backed up by a definite plan for its attainment, resembles the ship that has lost its rudder.

Hard labour and good intentions are not sufficient to carry a man through to success, for how may a man be sure that he has attained success unless he has established in his mind some definite object that he wishes?

And he went on to say:

‘If your aim in life is vague your achievements will also be vague, and it might well be added, very meager.

Know what you want, when you want it, why you want it, and how you intend to get it.

The object of your definite chief aim should become your ‘hobby’.

You should ride this ‘hobby’ continuously, you should, sleep with it, eat with it, play with it, work with it, live with it and THINK with it.’

Definite chief aims are goals.

They are the next destination for our life’s ship.

There’s no way there can be two destination at the same time.

One is all we need each time we set off.

And once we get there, once we have achieved it, then immediately we must set off to another aim.

We have the freedom to choose where we want to go and when and why and how.

It’s shame that some still travel aimlessly, and as a result, we see them at an old age unfulfilled, unhappy and unsure why life is so unfair.

But life is all very fair.

We are rewarded what we deserve.

Our definite chief aims tell us in advance what our rewards shall be.

No aim, I’m afraid no reward.

So, what’s your aim?

Is it definite?

Is it written down?

Do you think about it as often as possible?

Do you modify it as often as you gain new knowledge?

Mine is written down on a card and in a number of notebooks.

I look at it, I read it several times each day.

And I set everything else in my life around it.

There can be long term aims and short term aims.

But there mustn’t be no aim.

Because life of no focused aim is like a life of a brown fox.

Simply the life of an opportunist.

All the best.

¬