blogging everyday for 30 days – a personal challenge

Well, well, well…how hard can it be?

Is there gold to be found in this?

Or would I just get to the other side of the tunnel full of dust and weary?

You see, I’m on a 30-day challenge to publish good blog posts everyday.

I started the challenge back on 24th June 2014… and I’m going to carry on until the end of July – way past the 30 days mark.

But then how easy is it going to be?

And if it is not going to be any easy, how hard can it be?

What would I learn from this challenge?

Would my writing career take on a permanent habit that will serve it well on its future projects? Are there good lessons to be learned as I take take day after another? Well, I’ve just passed the halfway mark and to be honest, I ike it. I like because of the following reasons:

  1. I come up with lots of ideas to write about, ideas that I wouldn’t have had them if I was blogging once a week or something similar

  2. My writing starts to flow better than when I started

  3. Writing blog posts every day gives me something to brag about on Twitter

  4. And lastly, I train my writing brain for better writing skills. This is imporatant as I am embarking on writing ebooks

lots of ideas

I remember a gentleman who wrote an article about having the last creative idea – since he was working in advertising.

It came a point where he was terrified that he wouldn’t be able to come up with any other idea.

So he wrote, there goes my last creative idea.

And honestly, if one is short of ideas then there is no way they can take a challenge like the one I’m taking.

I had one client who wanted to update his online content + adding more content thorough blogging.

And when we were in a meeting discussing it all, I suggested to him that someone in his office should as well do the blogging. But then he asked me a question…

He said, what are they going to blog about?

I said, what about each element of your services? What about how you are prepared to help your customers solve their problems? What about a series of posts on how you have served your most recent customers?

I said to him, there are lots of ideas you an blog about.

And he said to me, ‘but what’d I do when we have blogged about all that?

The thing is, he thought of ideas as scarce.

As if there were only 9 of them and that’s it.

That’s not the case.

Well, maybe because I consider myself creative… so ideas come to me easily.

But, there are lots of ideas to write about if one opens up their eyes… or minds.

Anyway, if at all I have learned anything in this challenge so far it is this: the more I write the more I get more ideas to write about.

And the chain will never end.

 

writing starts to flow

I find this quotation by Winston Chuchill interesting:

“They say practice makes perfect.

And then they tell you no one is perfect.

I wish they’d make up their minds.”

Well, the truth of the matter is, if you want to write well, be prepared to write badly.

And that’s exactly what I’m doing here with this challenge.

I may not be producing the first class blog posts.

But I will produce so many of them that quality, like the French car manufacturers, will one day come up.

My flow is already quiet natural and easy.

And that’s a good thing.

After all, I trained as a copywriter, so I know absolutely how important the flow is to a writer and to his/her reader.

No wonder there is this rule called WAYS – Write As You Speak.

Blogging everyday for 30 days must give me some really cool WAYS.

 

something to brag about on Twitter

Do you know what’s going on on Twitter for people who aren’t writers or comedians (OK, and politicians)?

Well, they simply retweet what others tweet.

They see what you tweet and they simply click ‘retweet’… that’s all they do… I mean, tweet.

Why don’t you people use your own brains and tweet something you have written by yourselves?

It doesn’t have to be good now… because with little practice, you will be able to craft a perfect tweet.

Why should you have a thousand tweets and non of them comes from your brain?

Well, for me however, things are looking very promising.

I write a blog post every single day.

And therefore I have something fesh to tweet about everyday.

Isn’t that something to brag about?

Certainly not.

But here is the thing, as far as Twitter is concerned, I have an advantage because I just don’t tweet because I have to – like everyone else – but I tweet because I have a tweet to throw.

Pah!

 

foundation of a good habit

One of the big challenges for most writers is procrastination.

Call that the writer’s block if you are brave.

Or, why not call it writer’s fear for words – if you know what I mean?

Whatever you call it, the truth is, it’s a big challenge.

That’s why it’s said that most people die with lots of best-selling materials in their heads.

Why?

Well, because they procrastinated until it was too late.

Because the writer’s block was so huge like the Berlin wall… and unlike Berlin wall that finally went down, for most of these writers however, they died the other side of the wall… without seeing the other side.

Procrastination fears me.

Writer’s block freezes when it shows up on my pitch.

Because I give it no friendly stare.

I’m only kidding.

And I don’t know why I’m doing it because… I decided to take this 30-day blogging challenge as I hopped that in the end, I’d have developed a robust writing habit.

That’s all I need.

And because I will have it at the end of the tunnel, I will be able to take on bigger challenges as a writer.

The good thing is that I’m a good motivator.

A motivator who can as well motivate himself.

So, I must go ahead and record this as a good win, as a little success.

Because, what’s success if not the accumulation of little successes.

I read somewhere that to develop a new habit is tough.

And that to go back to the old ways is so easy.

I certainly don’t want to go back to my old procrastinating ways.

I’m a new writer, a better writer now.

So I must write, and I must write every single day.

Well, at least for 30 days before I can claim for that new habit.

I will make it.

I expect to.

those who blogged less still earned more

Well, before I finish this post, let  me tell you about some important statistics (someone said statistics are simply official lies… maybe!)

Last year, Kate Toon, an SEO freelance copywriter in Australia conducted a survey on other freelance copywriters worldwide.

She wanted to understand how many hours did the freeleancers do in a typical week.

She also wanted to know how much holidays these copywriters took on average each year.

There were questions on how much they earned when they started as freelancers and how much they earn now as experienced writers who are on high demand.

And also there was a question on blogging.

Just to let you know, this is a big thing to copywriters because they all like to show off their writing styles and all that.

It’s said that some waste more time on their blogs than recruiting new clients.

But then the findings of the survey were not what most of us expected.

Yes, most of us… did I tell you I’m a copywriter as well?

Well, never mind.

It’s not a big deal anyway – at least I don’t make it.

Anyway, here are some of the findings:

  • Freelance copywriters worked in average of 36 hours each week

  • They took only 15 days off each year

  • Most of the projects they worked on were for online copies + content writing

  • And lastly, earnings and clientele did not depend on how much one blogged. That is, those who blogged less, did not necessarily earn less. And by blogging less I mean once a week or less than once a week.

The point is, I’m on this 30-day blogging challenge and yet I know that it doesn’t make much difference if all I wanted was to attract clients.

But then again, I’m not looking for any client.

If this was a game it could be basketball because, as long as you have the basket, you don’t have to be in a team, as there are plenty of games to play by yourself.

And since life is a like game, but a game which is about having some fun, then I take writing the same way – writing to have some fun.

Because if I’m not having any of it, then no reader will come back for more. If it’s good, we want more of it, but if it’s not so good… we go for a walk and never to return.

The 30-day blogging challenge if here to teach me how to have maximum fun while producing the fullest possible quantity and the best possible quality of work as a writer.

Mind you, this is only day 17th.

Wish me luck.