#thankyou – Ben Carson

thankyou-therichthoughts-joshlugembe

 

<<if you were to thank one writer, one author, one blogger, one coach, one speaker, one person responsible for your growth to success… who would that person be?>>

Now, think about it.

We hardly achieve anything on our own.

Sometimes, other people say something or write something and all of sudden we see life in a knew, better picture.

The picture that seems to resonate with our inner being.

The picture that somehow simplifies every step we make to achieve our dreams.

We may want to thank these people for a number of reasons:

  • thank them for what their book said about an an aspect of life that we wanted to overcome

  • thank them for what we have accomplished and what we are known for

  • thank them for the new direction we are heading to with our lives, the direction full of hope, and strong expectation

  • thank them for adding to us rich thoughts that have helped us add value to other people’s lives as well

If you were to give that person a ring today, or send them a short email that says something like, ‘Richard, your book opened doors for me, thank you.’ – who would you thank?

Well, for me, it would be Benjamin Carson, MD.

Back in 2002/3 I read his book THINK BIG.

Up until then, I hadn’t read anything of that nature, something inspiring, something real, non-fiction.

I only enjoyed reading fictional books.

And I read lots of them.

But for some reason, after I read Think Big by Ben Carson, I stopped reading fiction books.

There was no point to.

Fiction books seemed like time wasters.

Of course, they entertained me very well.

They were so powerful that many times I missed my meals because I had to finish a chapter or a scene.

It was like being in the cinema every single day, only without popcorns and the big screen.

But even with all that, I wanted to explore the personal development path a bit more.

It seemed as if I was the only one who didn’t know much about it.

As I went to the library and searched the internet, I couldn’t believe what was there…

So I decided to embrace the new path.

And 10+ years later, I still read, and I only read books in this genre.

They are the best books ever.

And the studies of the rich and the famous reveal that most of them spend at least 30 minutes a day reading these books.

So I’m glad that Ben Carson, introduced me to the world of the most successful.

Ben Carson who is a retired Pediatric Neurosurgery who worked at the Johns Hopkins Hospital.

He is now, as i write this post, one of the individuals listed as potential candidates for the 2016 US Republican presidential nomination.

And here is how wikipedia introduces him:

Benjamin SolomonBenCarson Sr. (born September 18, 1951) is an American author, retired neurosurgeon, and a candidate for the Republican nomination to run for President of the United States in 2016.

He is credited with being the first surgeon to successfully separate conjoined twins joined at the head.

In 2008 he was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom by President George W. Bush.

After delivering a widely publicized speech at the 2013 National Prayer Breakfast, he became a popular conservative figure in political media for his views on social and political issues, spurring talk of his becoming a Republican candidate for the 2016 presidential election.

But nevertheless, I’m glad I knew about him and I read his books way before he decided to go for politics.

Politics isn’t a bad thing, it’s just not my thing – at least for now.

Anyway, it seems like Dr. Carson influenced me so much that my son took his name… and he isn’t just Ben, but Benji.

Dr. Carson, thank you!

I really tried to think big, just like your book instructed… and I have reaped enough to know that your book added life to my life.

And so from the bottom of my heart, truly appreciated.

Comments are closed.