if you want to learn, to understand and to master something, then this is what you’ve got to do…

Hi there! Are you super grateful for this day, this life, this… everything?

I am. There’s so much that I’m blessed with all around me. Even as I sit on my desk to write this post (sit on my desk?), for some reason, I feel good… I mean, so good, bang! bang! so good, bang! bang! because I’ve got something to share! Isn’t that wonderful?

Now I hope wherever you  are in this small internet-connected-world, you are doing well. And that you have many reasons to feel good. But if you can’t attach your feel-good to a situation or experience, well, that’s even better. So just feel good for no reason.

In this post, I’d like to share a quotation. The quotation that, when first read it, I felt wiser by miles. And these days, every now and then I come across one special quote.

All they do, these words of wisdom, is give us a new way to think, a new angle to look at things, and possibly a more easy way to understand ourselves and our words better.

It was early this year when I was over to Jack Canfield’s blog where I found these words by Yogi Bhajan:

‘If you want to learn something, read about it.
If you want to understand something, write about it.
If you want to master something, teach it.

It really made me think.

As I said, I felt like I was a bit wiser than I was before I read it… which I was. I mean, how can you read this quote for the first time without thinking that you’ve just read one of the greatest wisdom?

If you want to learn something, read about it.

But that’s not easy.

It’s not easy because it requires the formation of a new habit, probably.

And you and I know that it’s not easy to form a new habit.

But if we want to learn something about it, if we want to know more about it, if there’s a burning desire inside us… well, we’ll find time and drive to read about it.

So if there’s a strong desire, then the formation of a new habit will have to happen.

If you want to understand something, write about it.

Now, this is the harder part.

Yes, we all know that whenever there’s a desire there is a direction (or did you want me to say, whenever there’s a will there’s a way?), but when it comes to writing… well, take this line from the writing industry (if there’s such an industry…),

‘Writing is easy, ask any unsuccessful writer.

But the yogi’s line has a much richer meaning, if we take time to think about it.

If you want to understand something, write about it. But why?

Because writing takes you back to squire one: reading. And it’s not just any reading, but rather studying, comparing thoughts, asking questions, digging deeper, and so forth.

But then there is a big one.

If you want to master something, teach it.

Mastery, comes to those who have the courage to teach it.

When I use the word courage, it kind’a feel like a word full of resistance. And I think it is, but only if we go about it in the wrong way.

Courage isn’t about proving to others what we are able to do. But I think, courage is all about tapping into our faith, our firm belief than no matter what lies ahead of us, we have the ability to do it. The question is, why do we do it?

We do it because it adds to our happiness.

We do it because it adds to others’ happiness.

Because it’s in line with our greater, higher life purposes.

That’s why we do it.

That’s why we teach it.

Because it will enlighten others, as well.

Because, when all is said and done, we’d have added more vibes of progress to others.

And to me, that’s what life is all about.

Sharing.

And if by doing that we become the masters of it (whatever it is), then so be it.

I wish you a very happy day.

Remember, reading, writing and teaching have the ability to take us higher.

To elevate us to that next stage, that next level.

The level that, as long as we live, is always there.

And for that reason, we can never give way to idleness and not to continuously improve ourselves.

Because that’s what life’s all about.

Improvement.

Progress.

In other words, we are all on to the next one.

The question is, is it big enough?

Does it support life?

Does it give more than it takes away?

¬

2 thoughts on “if you want to learn, to understand and to master something, then this is what you’ve got to do…

#yourthoughts

