whatever it takes. or go home.

I was chatting with my work colleague the other day and he said to me,

I’m tired of being poor.

So I asked him… ‘What are you going to do about it?’

‘Well’, he said, ‘I’m going to find ways to progress here at work… ways that I will be able to make more money.’

Now, in my opinion, this young man managed to say something that most people die without even daring to think about it.

Over 95% of people in the west are broke… not because there are no opportunities but because they don’t want to admit that poverty is a bad thing. That living pay check to another is slavery at its best.

And what do they say if you ask them why they are living an average life, why they are not doing anything to improve themselves?

It pays the bills.

And you know what I mean by it…

My colleague is tired of being poor. He wants to make more money. He loves the idea of progress. He even understands one thing that, again, most people have no idea. And that is:

If you want more, you must be ready to give more… to contribute more.

In other words, if you want your company to consider you for more pay, for that rare promotion, for even being worth listening to, then the answer is in doing more… In working harder, in adding more value. And that is totally the opposite of average.

And therefore doing little is not the answer.

Doing what everyone else is doing isn’t the way, either.

The only way forward is to go all in, to push the boundaries.

My colleague is tired of being poor.

So he is now looking for better ways to earn better money.

Even though he doesn’t want to join sales, where he will have a better chance to not only increase his income but even double it… he is already miles ahead from most people out there who like to justify that it’s alright where they are.

I know it’s not alright.

It’s a burden and painful not to be able to buy what you want when you want.

And it certainly not a virtue to live average.

I know this because just over a year ago I said the same words… that I’m tired of being poor.

But unlike my friend, I didn’t simply go for a simple and safe solution that doesn’t stretch me up. I went all in.

I decided to either find a better way to make more money or die trying.

I decided to do whatever it takes to succeed.

I decided that to triple my income by quieting all the poor income streams I had (poor jobs, I mean).

I pushed the boundaries.

And to be honest, at times it got a bit scared.

A bit scared because I have kids. Now any average person would know that you don’t go in search for a better pasture if there are small mouths to feed. You don’t do such a thing because you are expected to play it safe. And so I played it risky.

I decided I wanted something better.

In the end, I didn’t triple my income but I doubled it. And this year, I want to double it again. How will I do it?

Well, as a sales person I’ve learned something – at last.

And that’s:

It takes the same effort to make £100 like it takes to make £1000.

So if I play a diligent game when it comes to improving myself, then I’ve a possibility of improving my skills and as a result, earn more.

It’s that time again to go all in… or what’s the point! After all, the wise have already taught us that life, is a daring adventure, or nothing. So I might as well demand more of myself.

What about you?

Are you willing to do whatever it takes?

Are you tired of being poor?

Do you feel like you’ve settled for for something less than you deserve for such a long time that you feel like there’s no point to even try?

Well, start slow… and with time, as you build up some momentum, you will find the courage and drive to keep going.

Along the way, demand more of yourself than anything else… than from anyone else. Learn more because you will increase your chances of earning more. And don’t forget to raise your standards because that alone has the power to carry you to the next level.

So no matter what…

Think progress.

Believe in progress.

And push for progress.

¬

#yourthoughts

