William James: ‘If you want quality, act as if you already have it.’

Did you know that if you act happy, even by pretend smiles you end up becoming happy?

Did you know that if you clench your fist you can increase your willpower?

And that if you act like you are not that important, all that successful, all that goal-achieving person, you end up well… now you get the picture?

The so-called the father of modern psychology introduced us all to this great concept. He said,

‘If you want quality, act as if you already have it.’

So does it mean if you act like success you end up becoming one?

Well, scientist all around the world have come to conclude that this is true.

The person who acts like they’ve what it takes to succeed are the people who eventually get there.

Those who learn more because they feel like there’s a great potential inside them, are the ones who eventually unleash that potential and benefit the whole world.

I remember when I started writing, I was told that, ‘you can’t say that you are a writer until you are properly published’. Now, here is what I did.

I told everyone I was a writer.

I had nothing to show since I wasn’t a properly published nerd.

To catch up with with my words I worked hard on improving my craft, my sentences to the point that in no time I was not only a published writer, but a writer who actually got a prize from one of the best-selling magazine for writers in the UK.

Lesson?

Don’t wait until you get there to act like one.

Start getting excited with the journey right now.

After all, our subconscious minds can’t tell whether you are pretending or it’s for real. In other words…

The more you act like you have what you want, like you’ve achieved your goal already, the more you are in tune with the greater laws of nature that will speed your journey to where you want to go.

And one of the best ways to condition yourself to the new belief, to the new person you’d like to become is to use affirmations.

For more scientific study on this, if you can, grab your copy of The As If Principle by Prof. Richard Wiseman.

All the best!

¬